Girl with microscope

The NEWS Board of Trustees

Members of the McCleary Coalition’s Board of Trustees are appointed by the Board and confirmed at an annual general membership meeting.

  • President: Michael Dunn, Superintendent, NorthEast Washington ESD 101
  • VicePresident: Catherine Ahl, Education Chair, League of Women Voters of Washington
  • Secretary: Sarah Thornton, Executive Director/Human Resources & Legal Affairs, Pasco School District
  • Treasurer: Aimee Iverson, General Counsel, Washington Education Association
  • Past-President: Nick Brossoit, Superintendent, Edmonds School District (retired)
  • Member: Mike Blair, Superintendent, Chimacum School District (retired)
  • Member: John Cerqui, Deputy General Counsel, Seattle School District
  • Member: Michelle Nims, President, Washington State PTA
  • Member: Estela Ortega, Executive Director, El Centro de la Raza
  • Member: Christie Perkins, Special Education Coalition
  • Member: Gene Sementi, Superintendent, West Valley School District (Spokane)
  • Member: Dan Steele, Asst. Exec. Director/Governmental Relations, Washington Association of School Administrators